The Executive Committee

The KMS Executive committee is the highest decision making organ of the Society. It meets quarterly (3 months) to ratify major decisions made by the other committees and review the general affairs of the Society.

It’s comprised of the following members; the KMS Patron, KMS officials, the Chairmen of all KMS committees and other distinguished members of the Society elected at the AGM.


Name, Position and Institution

  1. Dr. Richard Muita, PhD - KMS Chairperson (Kenya Meteorological Department)
  2. Dr. Christopher Oludhe - KMS Vice Chairman (University of Nairobi)
  3. Mr. Bethwel Mutai - KMS Secretary (University of Nairobi)
  4. Ms. Pascaline Chemaiyo - KMS Vice Secretary (Kenya Meteorological Department)
  5. Mr. Chito Njeria – Treasurer (Kenya Meteorological Department)
  6. Ms. Mary Kurgat - KMS Vice Treasurer (Kenya Meteorological Department)
  7. Prof. Nzioka J. Muthama -Member (Wangari Maathai Institute, University of Nairobi)
  8. Dr. David Musembi - Member (South Eastern Kenya University)
  9. Prof. Alfred Opere - Member (University of Nairobi)
  10. Dr. Victor Ongoma - Member (South Eastern Kenya University)
  11. Dr. Lydia Gachahi - Member (TUK)
  12. Ms. Mary Githinji - Member (Kenya Meteorological Department)
  13. Ms. Pamela Kaithuru – Member (Kenya Meteorological Department)
  14. Mr. Misheck Kainga - Member (Kenya Meteorological Department)
  15. Mr. Francis Inganga - Member (NEMA)
  16. Mr. Simon Mwenja - Member (WRMA)
  17. Mr. George Keya - Member (KARI)
  18. Mr. Michael Obora - Member (Ministry of Agriculture)





Get In Touch

Physical Address: Kenya Meteorological Department (KMD) Dagoretti Corner along Ngong Road, next to the Institute for Meteorological Training and Research (IMTR) Library.
Postal Address: P. O. BOX 41959 - 00100
Nairobi, Kenya

Mobile: +254 71 708 9394

Phone 1: +254 20 214 7770

Phone 2: +254 20 386 7880

Fax:     +254 20 387 6955

Email 1:  info@kms.or.ke,

Email 2: kmsmails2@gmail.com